Elecrolytes and LCHF

I noticed when I first began this WOE, that I would get light-headed, dizzy and occasionally nauseated and the occasional leg cramps. I thought it was because my carb intake was too low and had probably dropped my blood sugar too low. Nope! My blood sugar would be fine.

What I have discovered is that when you take carbs out of your diet, there is very little to hold salt and potassium in your body, and especially if you are more active. So you get dizzy, light-headed and nauseous. Also, you may have muscle cramps and charlie horses.

There are a few remedies for this.

  1. salt your food! at times, you may need to over-salt even
  2. drink one of the following: pickle juice, sauerkraut juice, chicken or beef broth, or a glass of water with some lemon and sea salt
  3.  take a potassium and magnesium supplement

With potassium supplements, I’ve read that it doesn’t really matter which kind you take because any of them will be absorbed into your intestines, but not to take more than 99 mgs as you will get some from your foods.

With magnesium, I have read that malate is the best form for cramping and relaxation. Citrate is best if you are having problems getting your bowels to move. So it is up to you which one you want to take for which purpose. I do know the citrate will also help some with the cramping and relaxation, but not as quickly. I’ve read that you can safely take up to 1200 mgs of magnesium, but I usually take around 1000 mgs before bed time.

Another note: iodine is also important… if you use a lot of sea salt, you may not be getting sufficient amounts of iodine. One sign of iodine deficiency is vertigo, where you feel constantly dizzy, like the world is spinning, and have balance issues. You can treat this with either iodize salt or an iodine supplement.