Today’s Experiment in Fasting

First, let me say that by doing this, I am risking my own health. So I do not advocate this for any insulin taking Type 2 Diabetics and definitely not for Type 1 Diabetics. What I am doing is EXTREME. Please do not take what I reveal here as the best way to lower your BGLs. Do your own research, consult your doctor, etc. You know, all the usual common sense stuff.

For so long now, I have been struggling to get my BGLs under control. Just taking metformin did not work. I was put on 2 insulins – the slow-acting Levimer and the fast-acting Novolog. I have also been taking Janumet, which is a combination of Januvia and Metformin. With all of these, you would think my BGLs would be well under control, right? Wrong. They’ve remained high and my doses of insulin just keep getting increased.

In August, I began the LCHF WOE and yes, my BGLs came down some, as predicted by all LCHF advocates. By low, I mean I have still had morning fasting numbers of 155 and higher, up to 179. However, they used to be between 175-250. So yes, this is a great improvement.

I have been watching videos by Dr. Jason Fung, a doctor from Canada, who talks about Type 2 Diabetes not being a disease of high blood sugars, but of high Insulin. We just make and send out too much insulin. So why oh why did my doctor put me on MORE insulin and not work with my diet? I have no idea.

With the guidelines of Dr. Fung’s protocol, and because my doctor refused to lower my insulin, even when my A1c came down from 9.2 to 7.2, I have decided to do my own experiment. Fung advocates doing long fasts… one week and up to two weeks to naturally lower the insulin in the blood, thus lowering BGLs and improving diabetes. After the fast, you remain on a LCHF diet. He also suggests doing Intermittent Fasting after that.. 16:8 or 24 hr fasts.

Here are the rules I set up for myself today:

  1. No insulin
  2. Take my normal dosages of Janumet
  3. Only consume water, black coffee, green tea (no creams or sweeteners in either) and sea salt water as needed.
  4. Check my BGLs every two hours

This afternoon (12-ish), my BGL was 178. By 2 pm, it was 179. I was horrified. I thought, this is not going to work, but I persisted. By 4 pm it was 142. By 6 pm, it was …drum roll please… 115!

I am now 29 hrs into the fast. I plan on doing this for at least a week to rid myself of all that insulin. I probably have decades worth built up in my system. Just 139 more hours to go! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

