Weight Loss Boost with Intermittent Fasting

I had been on the LCHF WOE for 5 weeks with only a 5lb loss. I started listening to Dr. Jason Fung on Youtube talk about the benefits of Intermittent Fasting (IF), and decided to give it a shot. For the last 3 days, I have begun my day around 10 am with a BPC, then around 2 pm I have a large high fat meal and then just drink water and green tea the rest of the day. I do not eat again until the next day around 2 pm. This is considered a 24 hr fast since I am not consuming food for 24 hrs.

Today, I got on the scale and I was down another 6.5 lbs! That brings my total weight loss to 11.5 lbs in nearly 6 weeks.

I mostly contribute this to the IF, however, I have also quit taking my insulin. Dr. Fung also talks about how insulin stores fat and keeps you fat the higher your insulin levels are. I was using around 150-156 units of insulin per day. Granted, my BGL levels are now higher, but I am losing weight again and inches off of my waist which was NOT happening from injecting insulin in my belly every day.

I’ve decided to ride this out… keeping my carbs low, my fat high, taking the Janumet twice a day and keep losing weight. Eventually my BGLs have to start coming down again. I hope, anyway.

One thought on “Weight Loss Boost with Intermittent Fasting

Leave a Reply

