Blood Glucose Levels & Medication

I think I need to start cutting back on my insulin, especially during the day.

Currently, I take 46 units of Levimer twice a day and 20 units plus a sliding scale of Novolog 2-3 times per day. Most of the time that runs around 18-22 units at the most.

I am going to cut the Levimer back to 40 units per day and take the Novolog down to 15 units plus the sliding scale and see what that does for a couple of days. If my numbers begin to get high again, I will go back to what the doc prescribed.

I am noticing though that my BGL is higher in the morning before I eat, between 125 and 150. Someone said I was probably making cortisol during the night, which I don’t want as it will add to fat. So I may start eating some protein before bedtime.

Currently, I am still only eating two meals a day… around 6-8 am for breakfast and then around 4-5 pm for dinner. My BGL seem to be okay during the day, never going higher than 165, but have been as low as 75.

I’d love to know what my BGLs would be if I didn’t take any insulin during the day, but I am a bit scared to try that. I just wish I would normal out.

Leave a Reply

