Neuropathy — You Evil Beast!

I know that neuropathy has nothing to do with LCHF eating. However, I am diabetic and I DO have neuropathy, so I will be discussing this insanely aggravating, painful dis~ease.

There are a number of ways that neuropathy becomes a problem:

  1. Consistent high glucose levels over a period of time
  2. Chemotherapy
  3. injuries
  4. surgeries

There are probably others, but these are the ones I have learned about through my research. Basically, those little nerve endings no longer do their jobs, misfire, or are just dead (usually results in amputation). My research has shown that once they are gone, they do not grow back. Those of us with neuropathy will only continue to have more pain. However, I have been doing some research that shows that R-Alpha Lipoic Acid can improve those nerve endings that are still there, but just misfiring. I’ve just begun taking it, so I will have to let you know later on if it works.

I have noticed that since I gave up “bad” carbs, the pain in my feet (where most of my neuropathy is) has lessened. I still have some sharp needle-like jabs now and again, but not the constant aching as before. I am hoping that as I continue with this WOE, the pain will lessen even more.

Here are some things I have found that helps with the pain when I do have it:

  1. compression hose – since I also get swelling in my feet and ankles, these have greatly decreased both the swelling and the pain.
  2. Magnesium – I take 1000 mgs at night and it keeps the jumping, racing feeling in both my feet and legs (I have RLS too) from occurring. I take it about 30 mins before bedtime and it does help.
  3.  Topicals – A good general topical that I have found that works (when feet are just achy but not cold or burning) is Amish Origins Deep Penetrating Pain Relief Ointment. It is a bit pricey, but a little goes a long way. If my feet are freezing and painful, I use Capzasin-HP. Again, it is also a little pricey, but it heats up my feet and keeps the pain down for a little while so I can sleep. And finally, when I get that burning feeling in my feet, I use Aloe Sunburn Relief gel. It is very cheap and can be found at Walmart and some Dollar Stores. It soothes my feet and calms down the burning feeling.

I know I will always have this dis~ease, but I am grateful that I have found some products to reduce the pain and maybe help maintain the few nerve endings I have left. If anyone knows of any other products to help with this painful dis~ease, please let me know in comments.

Leave a Reply

