Strange Observations #3

Sleep… when I was consuming a high carb diet, I slept constantly. Sometimes up to 12 hours per day. I led a mostly sedimentary lifestyle, so yeah, it’s no wonder the weight stayed on and I was tired all the time. Since I began this LCHF WOE, I have only been sleeping about 6 hours per day and usually only in 3 hour implements. The past week, I’ve been sleeping even less than that. The first couple of days I slept maybe 4 hours within a 48 time period. The next few days, 3.5 hours within a 44 hour time period. I was so in need of sleep night before last that I took a 100 mgs of Trazodone. Normally, that would have knocked me out for 8-12 hours. But, I only slept 3.5 hrs.

I explained my dilemma to my brother and he said, “Maybe the high carbs was causing the trazodone to give you that much sleep.” Hmmm, he may be right!

Don’t get me wrong, I am not going into sleep dep or anything like that, just a mild case of insomnia. I just really enjoy sleeping. I love dreaming. Hell, most of the time my dream world has seemed more real than this one. I did manage to get a nice 5 hrs sleep midday yesterday. It felt good, but sadly I don’t remember dreaming.

In further developments, I think I have solved my issue with Chicken. I have been eating skinless, boneless chicken tenders just sauteed in coconut oil with some garlic powder, pepper and salt. And I think the issue is that the chicken is not absorbing any of the coconut oil, or not very much of it, so it is staying a leaner meat. With just some cheese or a pat of butter on my vegetables, I was definitely not getting many grams of fat with my meal. So, I began making chicken salad instead, using a full fat mayonnaise and a full fat sour cream for the dressing and viola! I have not gotten sleepy after eating it! Yay me!

Now to make it through the next two days until payday when I get some really good foods in here to eat!

Onward and upward! Embracing Fat! Loving this WOL!

Leave a Reply

