Strange Observations #2

Chicken – it completely puzzles me. Not just because it makes me sleepy (as I described in Strange Observations #1), but it also does weird things to my blood glucose levels.

With most proteins, 2 hours after I eat them (even if eaten with veggies) and check my blood glucose level, my blood sugar is no higher than 135. However, every single time I eat chicken (with or without veggies), my blood sugar is between 150-165 two hours after.

This leads me to ponder if chicken breaks down into sugar faster than other proteins. And it also makes me wonder if I should be eating way less chicken than other proteins.

Unfortunately, the only proteins in the house at the moment are eggs and chicken (well, there is peanut butter, but I try to avoid that). And although I dearly love eggs, I cannot eat them for every meal because I will quickly run out of them and be only left with chicken. Four days left until pay day.

Leave a Reply

